Promoter Warsaw Philharmonic
In partnership with the Warsaw Philharmonic
Guest promoter
On tour
Whole repertoire

Artistic season 2018/2019 programme

The new season programme at www.filharmonia.pl

Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra

Music and Artistic Director:

See more...

Warsaw Philharmonic Choir

Choir Director
Bartosz Michałowski

See more...
Return to concert list


Symphonic Concert Closing the 2016/17 Season
Event type: Symphonic, choral, large-scale vocal-instrumental
Hall: Concert Hall
Subscription: C1 - Symphonic concerts, Z1 - Golden subscription
Price: 50, 60, 80, 90, 100 zł
Edward Elgar
- Cello Concerto in E minor Op. 85 [30']
Intermission [20']
Gustav Mahler
- Das klagende Lied (second version) [37']

The cantata Das klagende Lied is a relatively little known composition by an 18-year-old Gustav Mahler – the first sign of his genius. Composed for the prestigious Beethoven Competition, it was rejected by the jury (including Brahms and Hanslick). This monumental setting of a fairy tale, despite Wagnerian influence in the form of leitmotifs, already clearly foreshadows Mahler’s highly individual style. Completed in 1880, it waited for 20 years for its premiere, and in the meantime the composer many times used his newly acquired experiences to revise the cantata.

Edward Elgar’s tremendous popularity in the English belle époque began to wane after World War I. The Cello Concerto in E Minor bears witness to this rather unjust neglect. Today it is one of the composer’s most popular works and a repertoire staple. It is therefore hard to believe that its premiere in 1919 proved a complete failure. It met with indifference and was only sporadically performed. Even Casals’s excellent interpretation did not launch this concerto on a brilliant career. It was only the inspired performance by the young Jacqueline du Pré (1965) that rendered full justice to this unjustly forgotten masterpiece. Ever since that time, the E Minor Concerto has become part of the canon, initiating a renaissance of Elgar’s music. This elegiac composition reflecting the Great War trauma is quite different from Elgar’s earlier virtuosic Violin Concerto. Technically demanding, it nevertheless does not try to dazzle listeners with virtuosity, but instead it attracts them with a wealth of thematic invention, with unique harmonic colours and the depth of its emotional drama.


02.06 Watch the concert online at www.filharmonia.pl

Filharmonia Narodowa
Download on your device
All rights reserved © 2016 Filharmonia Narodowa Site by: ActiveDesign