Promoter Warsaw Philharmonic
In partnership with the Warsaw Philharmonic
Guest promoter
On tour
Whole repertoire

Symphonic concert

WarsawPhil Orchestra
Kaspszyk / van Keulen

Fri, 26.01, 7.30 pm
Sat, 27.01, 6 pm

Learn more

Simply Philharmonic!

Project 3: The Spring of the Middle Ages

Concerts on 13 and 14 February

Learn more

Live broadcasts

Online broadcasts
in 2017/2018 season

Next concert - 27 Jan 2018

Learn more
Return to concert list


Buy ticket on-line
Symphonic Concert - Written in Free Poland
Event type: Symphonic concert
Hall: Concert Hall
Subscription: B1 - Symphonic concerts, Z1 - Golden subscription
Price: 50-100 zł
Bolesław Szabelski
- Toccata from Symphonic Suite, Op. 10  [5']
Karol Szymanowski
- Violin Concerto No. 2, Op. 61 [20’]
Intermission [20']
Claude Debussy
- La Mer [24’]
Witold Lutosławski
- Symphony No. 4 [23’]

Funded by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage as part of the NIEPODLEGŁA multi‑annual programme for 2017–2021







The brilliant composer, musicologist, critic and teacher Józef Koffler, a modernist who boldly drew on the achievements of the Viennese School, shared the tragic fate of the victims of the Holocaust. He was murdered together with his family in still unclear circumstances. The for­tunes of war did not spare many of his works either, whilst those that did survive remained forgotten for many years. Koffler’s memory was revived thanks to in‑depth research conducted by the musicologist Maciej Gołąb, whose efforts were published in a monograph in 1995. Refined in its form, and exquisite in its sound, Symphony No. 1 serves as a perfect introduc­tion to the composer’s oeuvre – although its form is still in the classical style, the material is organised according to the principles of the 12-tone technique (this is one of the earliest examples of its reception in Poland).

In the autumn of 1933, the Warsaw Philharmonic hosted a premiere of Karol Szymanowski’s Violin Concerto No. 2. The premiere was beautiful and yet melancholic at the same time. The performer and recipient of the dedication, the great violinist Paweł Kochański, who was also a friend of the composer, was terminally ill, and despite playing exquisitely – as he always did – the audience was well aware that this performance would be his swansong. And it would indeed prove to be his final appearance.

As with the epoch‑making First Concerto, the Second was also inspired by Kochański’s talent and craft, and also made use of his advice and suggestions for the violin. It is, however, completely different from its predecessor – less extravert, with more succinct themes, and with rich but not exuberant chromatics. Both works have in common not only their beauty but also a great originality in both form and texture. Symphony No. 4 was Witold Lutosławski’s crowning work, and therefore the piece can be seen as a synthesis and summary of his achievements. Commis­sioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic, it assumed its final shape in 1992 when it was performed in celebration of Lutosławski’s 80th birthday. Here he remained faithful to the two‑movement form that he had developed over many years. The Polish premiere on 25 September 1993, performed by the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of the composer himself, would be the last time he appeared in the country of his birth.

Filharmonia Narodowa
Download on your device
All rights reserved © 2016 Filharmonia Narodowa Site by: ActiveDesign