Promoter Warsaw Philharmonic
In partnership with the Warsaw Philharmonic
Guest promoter
On tour
Whole repertoire

2018/19 Artistic Season Closing

WarsawPhil Ensembles
Kaspszyk / Bendžiūnaitė / Mayer
Fri., 31.05, 7.30pm
Sat., 1.06, 6pm

See more...

Live broadcasts

Next online broadcast:

2018/2019 Season Closing
Sat., 1 June, 6 pm

See more...

Symphonic Concert

Tbilisi Symphony Orchestra
Vakhtang Kakhidze, Anna Tchania

Sun., 26.05, 6 pm

See more...
Return to concert list


Symphonic Concert
Event type: Symphonic concert
Hall: Concert Hall
Subscription: D2 - Symphonic concerts, Z2 - Golden subscription
Price: 50-100 zł
Sergei Prokofiev
- Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 63 [27']
Intermission [20']
Anton Bruckner
- Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, WAB 109 [70']

Due to reasons beyond Warsaw Philharmonic, Yuri Bashmet will not perform in Warsaw on 2 and 3 March. Instead of the Alfred Achnittke's Viola Concerto, the Violin Concerto No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 63 by Sergey Prokofiev, who be presented by Alena Baeva.



Sergei Prokofiev composed his Violin Concerto No. 2 in G Minor for the French virtuoso Robert Soëtens in 1935. The premiere took place on 1 December that same year in Madrid. It was his last commission from the West.

Shortly afterwards, having spent almost 20 years abroad, Prokofiev returned to his Russian homeland for good. When listening to this beautiful Concerto in G Minor it is hard to come to terms with the fact that Prokofiev’s next piece was a cantata which he was forced to write for the 20th anniversary of the October Revolution, and which today continues to gather dust on the shelf of history.

Why did he return to the Soviet Union at a time when Stalin’s “Great Purge” was at its terrifying height and no walk of life, not even art, was spared its ravages?

The Second Violin Concerto remains one of the last true rays of sunshine in the music and life of Sergei Prokofiev. Here, the composer – trusting in his own future and that of the homeland he had chosen to reembrace – writes in the spirit of a new simplicity – an idea that came to his mind several years earlier and which he imagined entailed – admittedly quite vaguely – abandoning modernist experiments and focusing on a more accessible lexicon of musical expression.

Anton Bruckner never completed his Symphony No. 9. It was meant to be his opus vitae – the pinnacle of his career. While he had dedicated his previous symphonies – Nos. 6, 7 and 8 – to monarchs; he wished to devote this last work to God. Although Brucker originally got down to writing the piece in 1887, he soon put it aside, preoccupied as he was by the laborious revisions of his earlier works. He died while working on the symphony’s fourth and final movement, leaving behind quite an imposing portfolio of drafts, ideas, and notes. Despite the repeated endeavours of others to fill in the gaps left by the composer, Bruckner’s Symphony No. 9 is today still treated as an unfinished work in the history of music. However – as some have aptly noticed – the fact that Venus of Milo lacks arms does not stop us from admiring her beauty. Similarly, the Symphony’s towering and truly emotionally charged three movements provide us with the kind of experience to which nothing else need be added.

Ludwik Erhardt



You are invited to this concert by Warsaw Philharmonic Partner - Carolina Car Company

Filharmonia Narodowa
Download on your device
All rights reserved © 2016 Filharmonia Narodowa Site by: ActiveDesign