Promoter Warsaw Philharmonic
In partnership with the Warsaw Philharmonic
Guest promoter
On tour
Whole repertoire

Our special gratitude to our Patrons, Sponsors and Partners


We provide information on the current situation at the Warsaw Philharmonic
See more...

Auditions for the posts at the WarsawPhil Orchestra

Warsaw Philharmonic invites to auditions for the posts of assistant concertmaster, double bass and percussion
See more...
Return to concert list


Symphonic Concert
Event type: Symphonic concert
Hall: Concert Hall
Subscription: D2 - Symphonic concerts, Z2 - Golden subscription
Price: 50-110 zł
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
- Symphony No. 39 in E-flat Major, KV 543 [29’]
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
- Symphony No. 40 in G Minor, KV 550 [35’]
Intermission [20']
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
- Symphony No. 41 in C Major Jupiter, KV 551 [31’]

Tickets available from 16 September 2019.


Penned in the summer of 1788, the triptych of Symphonies in E-flat Major (No. 39), G Minor (No. 40) and C Major (No. 41) crowns Mozart’s opulent oeuvre and is treated as his symphonic testament. However, it is hard to find anything that would suggest that Mozart treated them particularly seriously and that with them he intended to stop composing symphonies. Nor do we know whether Mozart wrote them for any particular occasion, or whether (perhaps with the exception of Symphony No. 40) he had a chance to hear them in his lifetime. In the context of Mozart’s then difficult personal life (a lack of commissions for new pieces, financial problems and deteriorating health), researchers have tried to find some kind of connection between the symphonies and the circumstances in which they were written. However, these hypotheses are greatly flawed because – contrary to many 19th-century composers – Mozart’s creativity and invention remained intact irrespective of external factors.

From a formal point of view, Symphony in E-flat Major is the most Haydn-like in style. It is comprised of a first movement with an introduction, a slow Andante con moto, a minuet and a finale. However, as far as the sound layer is concerned, due to its emotionally charged form and the use of operatic dramatic devices, it is a thoroughly modern work.

The most frequently performed of the three symphonies is the melancholic Symphony in G Minor. Beethoven and Schubert must have known it quite well as they made creative references to its finale in their fifth symphonies.

And Symphony in C Major received its nickname “Jupiter” from Johann Peter Salomon – a German violinist and impresario, who in assigning this moniker wished to draw attention to its perfect composition rather than to its brilliance and majestic character.

Filharmonia Narodowa
Download on your device
All rights reserved © 2019 Filharmonia Narodowa Site by: ActiveDesign