Promoter Warsaw Philharmonic
In partnership with the Warsaw Philharmonic
Guest promoter
On tour
Whole repertoire

Ticket sale in open!

We invite you to our box offices or visit bilety24.pl
See more...

Special Oratorio Concert

WarsawPhil Ensembles
Kaspszyk / Kurzak / Rehlis / Alagna / Siwek

See more...

Live broadcasts 2019/2020

The 2019/2020 Season live broadcast schedule
See more...
Return to concert list


Buy ticket on-line
Symphonic Concert
Event type: Symphonic concert
Hall: Concert Hall
Subscription: D1 - Symphonic concerts, Z1 - Golden subscription
Price: 30-70 zł
Gabriel Fauré
- Suite Pelléas et Mélisande, Op. 80 [18’]
Maurice Ravel
- Piano Concerto in G Major [23’]
Intermission [20']
Alexander Glazunov
- Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major, Op. 55 [34’]

Tickets available from 16 September 2019.


Not everybody knows that one of the most recognisable themes of French music was penned by Gabriel Fauré and that it is hidden in his four-movement suite Pelléas et Mélisande. Written as a musical setting to Maurice Maeterlinck’s play, staged in London in 1898 (the theme inspired also other composers, including Debussy, Schönberg and Sibelius) the suite shows perfectly why Fauré is called a “poet of intimacy”.

Maurice Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G Major is a synthesis of the most characteristic features of his style: his penchant for the lavish sound of the orchestra, jazz, Spanish style and 18th-century elegance. Before the composer was forced to completely withdraw from his concert life due to health problems, he managed to present the piece to the audiences of several European cities; however, only as a conductor and not a pianist. He also visited the Warsaw Philharmonic, where on 11 March 1932, together with the pianist Marguerite Long, he presented Concerto in G Major to local music lovers.

Alexander Glazunov, present at the 1916 premiere of Prokofiev’s scandalous Scythian Suite, dashed out from the room hands on ears to protect them against horrible dissonances. This pompous gesture perfectly illustrates not only his personality but also his career. Despite the fact that he witnessed epoch-making changes in music – starting from Mussorgsky, through Prokofiev to Stravinsky – he was completely impervious to any progress, and consistently maintained his conservative approach. Glazunov’s symphonies (he wrote the first one when he was sixteen, and the last one – the Eight – a quarter of a century later) do not belong to the core repertoire. Showing some similarities to German music (Mendelssohn’s or even Wagner’s) his Symphony No. 5 was heard at the Warsaw Philharmonic only once, over forty years ago, during a guest performance of the Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra with its legendary director Yevgeny Mravinsky. The fans of Russian music will be pleased to see this piece in the programme of this concert.

Filharmonia Narodowa
Download on your device
All rights reserved © 2016 Filharmonia Narodowa Site by: ActiveDesign