Promoter Warsaw Philharmonic
In partnership with the Warsaw Philharmonic
Guest promoter
On tour
Whole repertoire

Opening of the Season 2017/2018

Warsaw Philharmonic Ensembles
Kaspszyk / Labèque / Labèque

Friday, 29.09, 7.30pm
Saturday, 30.09, 6.00pm

Learn more

Live broadcasts

Online broadcasts
in 2017/2018 season

First one on Friday, 29.09

Learn more

Ticket sale is open

We invite you to our booking offices,
online service,
and a new machine - Biletomat

Learn more

Grammy for the Warsaw Philharmonic Choir

The Award has arrived to Warsaw!
Learn more
Return to concert list


Symphonic concert
Event type: Symphonic, choral, large-scale vocal-instrumental
Hall: Concert Hall
Subscription: A1 - Symphonic concerts, Z1 - Golden subscription
Price: 25, 45, 55, 70, 80 zł
Anatoly Lyadov
- The Enchanted Lake, Op.62 [7']
Jean Sibelius
- Violin Concerto in D minor Op. 47 [35']
Intermission [20']
Maurice Duruflé
- Requiem op. 9 [45']

Watch on-line at www.filharmonia.pl and Warsaw Philharmonic YouTube channel.

Maurice Duruflé’s Requiem mass has somewhat infamous origins. It was commissioned in 1941 by the Vichy government, which collaborated with Nazi Germany. Duruflé accepted the commission, but interrupted his work when the regime collapsed, and completed it only in 1947, dedicating it to the memory of his father. The cycle contains all the sections of the Latin missa pro defunctis, but – similarly as in Gabriel Fauré’s Requiem and in agreement with French musical tradition – it omits the Dies irae sequence with its horrifying visions of the Last Judgment. The noble simplicity and captivating euphony of the music, interweaving melodic quotations from the age-old Gregorian Liturgy of the Dead, creates an ideal setting for a contemplation of the mystery of death.

Sibelius’s Violin Concerto (1904) – the only concerto in the Finnish composer’s output, casts a spell on the audience with its austere and rather sombre melodies (showing a preference for the low registers), which contain distinct references to Scandinavian folklore. The piece, one of the audience’s all-time favourites, gives the soloist many opportunities for a daring display of technical prowess, but at the same time retains an integrally symphonic design, with an independent, refined orchestral part.

Filharmonia Narodowa
Download on your device
All rights reserved © 2016 Filharmonia Narodowa Site by: ActiveDesign