Promoter Warsaw Philharmonic
In partnership with the Warsaw Philharmonic
Guest promoter
On tour
Whole repertoire

Haydn's Armida

Kammerorchester Basel
René Jacobs

Mon., 19.02, 7pm

See more

Symphonic Concert

WarsawPhil Orchestra
Wit / Lugansky

Fri., 23.02, 7.30pm
Sat., 24.02, 6pm

See more

Simply Philharmonic!

Project 4: The Truth of Historical Sources and the Truth of Stylisation

Concerts on 11 and 15 March

See more

Live broadcasts

Online broadcasts
in 2017/2018 season

Next concert - 7 April 2018

See more
Return to concert list


Symphonic concert
Event type: Symphonic, choral, large-scale vocal-instrumental
Hall: Concert Hall
Subscription: A2 - Symphonic concerts, Z2 - Golden subscription
Price: 25, 45, 55, 70, 80 zł
Anatoly Lyadov
- The Enchanted Lake, Op.62 [7']
Jean Sibelius
- Violin Concerto in D minor Op. 47 [35']
Intermission [20']
Maurice Duruflé
- Requiem op. 9 [45']

Maurice Duruflé’s Requiem mass has somewhat infamous origins. It was commissioned in 1941 by the Vichy government, which collaborated with Nazi Germany. Duruflé accepted the commission, but interrupted his work when the regime collapsed, and completed it only in 1947, dedicating it to the memory of his father. The cycle contains all the sections of the Latin missa pro defunctis, but – similarly as in Gabriel Fauré’s Requiem and in agreement with French musical tradition – it omits the Dies irae sequence with its horrifying visions of the Last Judgment. The noble simplicity and captivating euphony of the music, interweaving melodic quotations from the age-old Gregorian Liturgy of the Dead, creates an ideal setting for a contemplation of the mystery of death.

Sibelius’s Violin Concerto (1904) – the only concerto in the Finnish composer’s output, casts a spell on the audience with its austere and rather sombre melodies (showing a preference for the low registers), which contain distinct references to Scandinavian folklore. The piece, one of the audience’s all-time favourites, gives the soloist many opportunities for a daring display of technical prowess, but at the same time retains an integrally symphonic design, with an independent, refined orchestral part.

Filharmonia Narodowa
Download on your device
All rights reserved © 2016 Filharmonia Narodowa Site by: ActiveDesign