Promoter Warsaw Philharmonic
In partnership with the Warsaw Philharmonic
Guest promoter
On tour
Whole repertoire

Symphonic Concert

Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra
Rodek / Pernoo

Fri., 22.03, 7.30 pm
Sat. 23.03, 6 pm

See more...

Live broadcasts

Next online broadcast:

Tue., 7 May, 7 pm

See more...

Symphonic Concert

Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra / Eiji Oue
Zapłatyński / Ohar-Sprawka / Lis / Kośmieja

Fri., 29.03, 7.30 pm...

Return to concert list


Symphonic Concert
Event type: Special concert, Symphonic concert
Hall: Concert Hall
Price: 90-180 zł
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
- Piano Concerto in G Major, KV 453 [30']
Intermission [20']
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
- Piano Concerto in C Minor, KV 491 [31’]

Piano Concerto No. 17 in G Major, KV 453, which is included in Mozart’s own catalogue under the date of 10 April 1784, was written at the peak of his popularity as a composer and pianist. We do not know the exact date of its premiere. What we know for sure is that it was performed at least as early as 13 June 1784 by Mozart’s pupil Barbara Ployer (to whom the work was dedicated) in a concert held at her father’s residence in Döbling near Vienna. However, we may conjecture that the composer himself played it even earlier, on 29 April, at the Theater am Kärntnertor in Vienna, in the presence of none other than Emperor Joseph II. Of all Mozart’s concertos, this work for G Major is one of the most varied in terms of mood: light, jocose episodes are intertwined with fragments of deeper expression. The solo part is slightly more elaborate than the pieces intended for Mozart’s own performance, while the orchestra is assigned a much more significant role than in his earlier works. The first two movements do not greatly depart from the conventional formal patterns; however, the finale combines elements of variation, rondo and the sonata form, and the extraordinarily expanded coda brings to mind the final scenes from Mozart’s operas.

Piano Concerto No. 24 in C Minor, KV 491, composed at the end of 1785 and the beginning of 1786, was heard for the first time on 7 April 1786 at the Burgtheater in Vienna. The solo part was taken on by the composer himself, who also conducted the orchestra from the piano. It is one of the most original pieces ever penned by the author of Don Giovanni, and not only in terms of its genre. In addition to a string quintet, the orchestra also features a flute, two oboes, two clarinets, two bassoons, two horns, two trumpets, and timpani – this is the largest line-up envisaged for a Mozart concerto, only matched by some of his late symphonies. Another rather unusual feature is the use of the minor key – common to only two of his twenty-seven piano concertos. However, what is most extraordinary about the concerto is its great dramatic expression – violent contrasts, intense emotions, and daring harmonic progressions, with the orchestra and the solo part enjoying equal status… It is Concerto in C Minor that more than any other work of Mozart most clearly foreshadows the Romantic trends of the future.


Paweł Markuszewski

Filharmonia Narodowa
Download on your device
All rights reserved © 2016 Filharmonia Narodowa Site by: ActiveDesign