Promoter Warsaw Philharmonic
In partnership with the Warsaw Philharmonic
Guest promoter
On tour
Whole repertoire

Our special gratitude to our Patrons, Sponsors and Partners


We provide information on the current situation at the Warsaw Philharmonic
See more...

Auditions for the posts at the WarsawPhil Orchestra

Warsaw Philharmonic invites to auditions for the posts of assistant concertmaster, double bass and percussion
See more...
Return to concert list


2018/2019 Season Opening Concert
Event type: Symphonic concert
Hall: Concert Hall
Subscription: D2 - Symphonic concerts, Z2 - Golden subscription
Price: 50-100 zł
Witold Lutosławski
- Fanfare for Los Angeles Philharmonic [1']
Eugeniusz Knapik
- Blessing gentle breeze for mixed choir and orchestra (premiere performance) [30']
Sergei Rachmaninov
- Piano Concerto No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 18 [33']

 Watch the concert online at our YouTube channel: www.youtube.com


"Written in Free Poland"

Concert is part of the Niepodległa 2018 programme of the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage







Witold Lutosławski’s one‑ minute Fanfare for Los Angeles Philharmonic (1993), which opens this programme (and the whole Warsaw Philharmonic season celebrating the centenary of Poland regaining independence with the concert series “Written in Free Poland”) is the composer’s last completed work. It was dedicated to the same highly regarded US orchestra that had premiered to great success his Symphony No. 4.

The audience of this inaugural concert will witness the world premiere of Eugeniusz Knapik’s Blessing Gentle Breeze, composed specially for this occasion. The music sets the opening verses of the English Romantic poet William Wordsworth’s monumental autobiographical work. As a member of ‘Generation ‘51’ (with Andrzej Krzanowski and Aleksander Lasoń) and protagonist of the much discussed 1970s’ festival in Stalowa Wola, Knapik led Polish new music from the avant‑garde to New Romanticism. Associated since his studies with Katowice’s Academy of Music, he made his debut here, at Warsaw Philharmonic (1974).

The turn of the 19th century was a difficult time for Rachmaninov. When – encouraged by his early successes – in 1897 he presented to St Petersburg audience his ambitious Symphony No. 1, its performance was followed by a deluge of malicious critical comments. The composer suffered from a long period of depression as a result and nearly gave up composing altogether. But love for Natalya Satina as well as the innovative methods of his therapist Nikolai Dahl helped him overcome this state. Piano Concerto No. 2 (1900), dedicated to Dahl, was received enthusiastically and opened a new period in the composer’s oeuvre. The Concerto, emblematic of his style, combines an extraverted type of expression, the beauty of broad melodies in the Russian spirit, dense saturated orchestral writing and a brilliant virtuosic piano part. The C Minor Concerto is one of the most spectacular pieces not merely of its own time, but in the entire history of this genre.



You are invited to this concert by PKO Bank Polski – Warsaw Philharmonic Strategic Patron of the Year













A concert is co‑financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage as part of the "Composing Commissions” programme implemented by the Institute of Music and Dance. 








This concert was produced under the patronage of PWM Edition as part of the project TUTTI.pl promoting the performance of Polish music.









Concert brochure

Filharmonia Narodowa
Download on your device
All rights reserved © 2019 Filharmonia Narodowa Site by: ActiveDesign