Promoter Warsaw Philharmonic
In partnership with the Warsaw Philharmonic
Guest promoter
On tour
Whole repertoire

Yes, we play!

The August-September Concerts programmes are now available!
See more...


We provide information on the current situation at the Warsaw Philharmonic
See more...

Our special gratitude to our Patrons, Sponsors and Partners
Return to concert list


Chamber music concert
Event type: Chamber music concert
Hall: Chamber Music Hall
Subscription: K1 - Chamber music concerts
Price: 30 zł
Franz Schubert
- Sonatensatz D28 [10']
Krzysztof Meyer
- Piano Trio op. 50 [33']
Intermission [20']
Ludwig van Beethoven
- Piano Trio in E-flat Major, Op. 70 no. 2 [23']

Beethoven’s two trios from Op. 70 were written during the composer’s summer visit to the residence of  Gräfin Anna Maria von Erdődy in 1809. Of this pair, the better known is the Trio No. 1 in D Major (nicknamed “Ghost” for the weird sound of its slow movement – possibly an echo of Beethoven’s theatre music sketches for Macbeth). During today’s concert, however, the audience will hear the second piece from Op. 70 – the Piano Trio in E Flat Major, eminently serene and poetically dreamy, though not entirely devoid of the eroico mood typically associated with this key.

The one-movement Trio in B Major in sonata form was written by Schubert in his teens (thus it is chronologically close to Beethoven’s Op. 70). The composition still looks back to the classical models of Haydn and Mozart. Though the qualities of Schubert’s mature style are still in the future, the trio delights the ear and the mind with perfect construction, graceful and themes and wonderfully balanced textures. We can observe how the young genius developed his technique, which laid the foundation for his later masterpieces of chamber music.

“The trio is undoubtedly one of the most gripping compositions in this genre written in the last few decades. Its affinity with the ideas and concepts of the (especially late) Shostakovich does not limit the composer’s freedom or his original vision of sound…” This otherwise enthusiastic commentary on one of the recordings of Krzysztof Meyer’s Trio Op. 50 also reflects the common though not always justified tendency to compare Meyer’s highly individual, varied and evolving style to that of the Russian composer to whom Meyer dedicated his acclaimed monographic studies. The Polish artist explained: “It is true I was fascinated with his [Shostakovich’s] music when I was a teenager, but it was only one of several fascinations and, like the others, it did not last long.” The extensive five-part composition written by Meyer in 1980 enjoys considerable popularity among ambitious chamber music performers.

Filharmonia Narodowa
Download on your device
All rights reserved © 2019 Filharmonia Narodowa Site by: ActiveDesign