Promoter Warsaw Philharmonic
In partnership with the Warsaw Philharmonic
Guest promoter
On tour
Whole repertoire

Simply Philharmonic!

Project 5: Georg Friedrich Händel – Concerti grossi, Op. 6: A Baroque orchestra flexes its muscles

12 April, 7pm

See more

Live broadcasts

Online broadcasts
in 2017/2018 season

Next concert - 7 April 2018

See more

Warsaw Philharmonic announces auditions

See more
Return to concert list


Buy ticket on-line
Chamber Music Concert
Event type: Chamber music concert
Hall: Concert Hall
Subscription: K2 - Chamber music concerts
Price: 50-100 zł
Fryderyk Chopin
- Andante spianato and Grande Polonaise Brillante in E flat major, Op. 22
Claude Debussy
- Première rhapsodie for clarinet and piano [8']
Igor Stravinsky
- Suite from L'Histoire du soldat for violin, clarinet and piano [15']
Intermission [20']
Claude Debussy
- Sonata in G Minor, L.140 for violin and piano [14']
Béla Bartók
- Contrasts for violin, clarinet and piano [18']

Johannes Brahms’ final works for piano – four cycles of miniatures (Op. 116–119) composed during his summer sojourn in Bad Ischl in 1892 and 1893, are, according to the view taken by most monographers, the most intimate of his works. Diverse in form and often harmonically rich – according to Alfred Einstein, an authority on Romanticism, they range between exaltation and resignation – they share the same mood, suffused with melancholy and sorrow. Brahms used to dub them lulla­bies to his sorrows, perhaps in this way paraphrasing Herder’s couplet which he added to the score of his Intermezzo Op. 117 No. 1 (which was not typical of him): “Sleep softly my child, sleep softly and well. It hurts my heart to see you weeping.” Devoid of any gloss of virtuosity, the miniatures flicker with autumn colours. And so does György Ligeti’s étude Automne à Varsovie from the first collection of these extraordinary pieces. In these études, the problems of virtuosity are combined with extra‑musical ideas – everything worthy of the turn of the millennium.

Brahms’ miniatures also showed his understanding of the historical situ­ation – Einstein argues that the miniatures brought the era of Romantic virtuoso play to an end. Igor Stravinsky’s extremely simple and delib­erately somewhat brutal The Soldier’s Tale also marked the definitive end of the lavish belle époque following its death throes in the muddy trenches of Flanders. After the Great War nothing was the same. Stylistic changes and new musical trends came from across the ocean. As a result, twenty years later, Béla Bartók could yield, without any embarrassment, to a fascination with the new jazz wizardry of Benny Goodman and write the colourful Contrasts at his request. The New York premiere of the full version of this piece (1940) was overshadowed by a new and even more brutal war.

Filharmonia Narodowa
Download on your device
All rights reserved © 2016 Filharmonia Narodowa Site by: ActiveDesign