Symphonic Concert Filharmonia Narodowa

Go to content
Symphonic Concert
Veriko Tchumburidze, photo: artist's archive

This evening’s programme opens with a work by the Ukrainian composer Victoria Polevá – Nova. The winner of the International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition in 2016, Veriko Tchumburidze, will be performing Antonín Dvořák’s Violin Concerto in A minor, a work that delights the listener with its Romantic expression, melodiousness, rhythmic temperament and striking virtuosity, showcasing the soloist’s all-round ability.

Ferenc Liszt’s symphonic poem Les préludes (1854) is not a typical example of the genre in the Hungarian composer’s oeuvre – primarily because its literary programme (a poem by Alphonse de Lamartine) was added after the fact. Les préludes consists of a diverse set of attractively sounding tableaux integrated by a lively dramatic thread and displaying a wonderful mastery of orchestration.

Paul Kletzki’s Capriccio, Op. 24 (1931) is an important work in the composer’s oeuvre, in which he relinquished a key signature and employed his own unique type of ‘posttonal tonality’. Wilhelm Furtwängler wanted to perform this work at the Berlin Philharmonic, but it was ‘snatched from the rostrum’ and destroyed. Some 90 years later, Andrzej Wendland arranged the score and the orchestral parts. The Capriccio is the latest in a series of works by Kletzki plucked from oblivion by Andrzej Boreyko and added to the concert repertoire.

Urszula Ciołkiewicz-Latek, Andrzej Wendland